Herb-Crusted Salmon

Picture

As a child I didn’t really enjoy eating fish. Probably due to the fact that Gujarati families really only know one method of cooking fish; fried in a shallow pan with a rich and flavoursome tomato sauce. The intense flavour of the tomato sauce and the fishiness of the Salmon was overwhelming for my immature palette.

Only after starting my professional life did I experience the wonders of ocean cuisine. Whole day professional development meetings at work are difficult at the best of times, the lunch break is a welcome relief from ‘death by Powerpoint’.

One meeting interluded with a fabulous spread for lunch. I was hit with a dilemma. What do I eat?? Shall I play safe and have the vegetarian option….. The carnivore inside me woke up… Shall I ask whether the meat is suitable for Muslim consumption? Can I confidently trust the meat was slaughtered according to the principles laid down by deen????

The fish main course provided the answer….. Lovely, moist, opulent salmon, perfectly seasoned with no hint of fishiness. My oceanic culinary journey had finally started.

Did you know?
The great thing about fish is variety of flavour between different types. Whereas other meat have degrees of being cooked, fish must always be cooked well, so the degree of flavour is down to the fish itself and the spices used.

Today I present my wife’s Herb crusted Salmon recipe, it was also my first iftaar meal.
Fish is a delicate meat and needs to be treated with appropriate care. The crispy herb crust complements the soft sumptuous fish, a departure from the harsh over rich flavours of my childhood.

I apologise for the ‘untidy’ picture. I had a big decision to make. Eat iftaar or take the picture!!! True foodies will appreciate my conundrum!

Ingredients

  • 4 salmon fillets, (170g /6 ounces each)
  • fresh lemon juice, salt,
  • Red chilli flakes,
  • ginger and garlic paste (to taste)
  • 3 slices bread
  • 1 cup fresh parsley (washed and dried)
  • Coarsely ground pepper

Picture

1. Marinate salmon for a few hours in lemon juice, red chilli flakes, ginger and garlic
2. Preheat oven to Gas Mark 8.

3. Blitz the bread and parsley, pepper and a small amount of salt in a food processor until coarse crumbs form.

Picture4. Place salmon skin side down on a baking sheet lined with aluminium foil. Sprinkle crumb mixture on top, making sure all the salmon is covered

5. Bake until salmon is opaque throughout, 11 to 13 minutes.

Picture

Picture

6. Serve with vegetable couscous, roast vegetable or rice

Enjoy!

I hope you enjoy the Herb crusted Salmon, please don’t forget to subscribe and keep updated with the work of the HaloodieFoodie!!
@haloodiefoodie


Leave a Reply

