DUM KA KHANA. SMOKEY AND THE HALOODIEFOODIE

Since the mid 90’s, my mother was presented with a cook book by a friend. She is a great cook and I cannot recollect her using it for any recipes. The Indian Delights book by Zuleikha Mayat still resides on the kitchen shelf and is in immaculate condition.IMG_20140610_184558
Its an excellent read and has stood the test of time, the first edition of the book was published in 1961!!
No Gujarati household is complete without a copy (even if they don’t use it!).  My copy is the Thirteenth Edition from 2007!

One recipe really comes to mind, Dum ka Gosht, or Smoked Mutton. Mrs Mayet cooks a relatively straightforward mutton curry. Now here’s the innovation (well 1960’s innovation). She makes space for a small metallic pot which is placed inside the main cooking vessel. Red Hot Coal  is placed into the pot with a 2 tablespoons of oil/ghee. The oil evaporates on contact with the smouldering coal which results in a plume of smoke. The pot is closed and sealed with a damp cloth and left for 30 mins. The outcome is a mutton curry infused with a delicious, smoky flavour.

1381045750-35474200

The black and white image in Mrs Mayet’s book is really striking. I’ve always wanted to try out the recipe but was dissuaded by the Red Hot Coal! Also, how am I going to light a single piece of coal?

My EUREKA moment came whilst walking down a windy High Street in North London. I walked past a Shisha/Hookah shop.
Swift-Lite charcoal is a fast lighting coal conveniently packed in foil.
Buoyant with my idea, I quickly made for home to try out this new concept.

I simply added a fully lighten hot shisha coal to a ramekin containing ghee. I’m sure you’ll agree that the results are quite impressive.  This resulted in the food developing a subtle, smoked flavour, which is not overwhelming.

I hope you enjoy the post, please don’t forget to subscribe and keep updated with the work of the Haloodie Foodie!!
@haloodiefoodie

4 thoughts on “DUM KA KHANA. SMOKEY AND THE HALOODIEFOODIE

  1. I’ve tried this using the shisha coal!!!! Thought I was being really dumb but it kinda worked, but it will work better with your tips thanks!

    Like

  2. P.S. I’ve just rehashed my muslimtastic.com blog and realised it looks exactly like yours, we are using the same theme! Great minds…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

