Garlic King Prawns in Lemon Butter with a Kick of Chilli!

 

FoodieChief Cooked Garlic King PrawnsGreetings, Inshallah this is the first of many posts I am able to share with you. Before we progress I would like to thank HaloodieFoodie for allowing me the opportunity to use this fantastic forum.

At this point it would be appropriate to put my culinary journey into context. In 1987, I moved away from home to study at university. It was the first time I came ‘home’ to an empty flat and the absence of the glorious smell of delicious home cooked food. Although, I did received a steady supply of ready-made spice mixes from my beloved mother, three years of trial and error gave me a thorough grounding into the road that lay ahead.

After graduating, my journey took an unexpected twist when I linked up my family to launch an Indian restaurant – this we successfully ran for twelve years, I enjoyed every moment, even though it was excruciatingly hard work, moreover the unsocial hours impacted on my family life.

Travelling and sampling different cuisines has really enhanced my understanding of food, this has played a key role in developing my skills that I have embraced. Over the years my travels have taken me to France, Italy, North Africa, South Africa, Middle East and of course India. To appreciate food you have to enjoy it, the enjoyment is even greater if you can try making it and sharing it!

Let commence with this simple starter – I love sea food and nothing annoys me more than having to eat over cooked prawns. Prawns and most other seafood are very delicate and are to be treated with care, over cooking any seafood will ruin the enjoyment of “fruit de mare” – Fruits of the sea.

To serve 4 people as a starter you will require the following ingredients:

24 headless king prawns with Shell

4 cloves of garlic

Fresh flat leaf parsley for garnish

1 lemon

40g of butter

3 tablespoon olive oil

Salt

Freshly ground black pepper

1 red chilli or a pinch dried chilli flakes (or more if you like it hot) – this is totally optional but I do like the chilli kick

Method:

FoodieChief King PrawnsStep 1 – Prepare your prawns, when using king prawns I always make sure that they are de-veined. Wash and allow to dry before placing them in baking dish.

Step 2 – Peel and finely chop the garlic. Now scatter the garlic, olive oil and the butter over the king prawns.

Step 3 – Wash your fresh lemon in hot water and dry, grate the lemon and collect the zest.

Step 4 – Add seasoning to your king prawns, salt and pepper to taste and the lemon zest.

FoodieChief Garlic King Prawns Ready to Bake

Step 5 – Add the chilli (optional step) and mix the king prawns will all the ingredients.

Step 6 – Bake the king prawns in a pre-heated oven at 190o C / gas mark 5 for approx. 12 mins. A good indicator that the prawns are cooked – the shells will be pink in colour.

Step 7 – Garnish with finely chopped parsley and freshly squeezed lemon juice.

Ready to serve with a thick slice of tiger bread!

final2

Hope you are able to try this simple and very tasty recipe. Your feedback and suggestions are welcome.

FoodieChief

Leave a Reply

